DoD 8570 Information

The DoD 8570 is also known as the Information Assurance Workforce Improvement Program. The Department of Defense passed a regulation stating that all Information Assurance personnel must become compliant with mandated IT and Security certification standards within a certain time frame. The regulation pertains to any full- or part-time military service member, contractor, or local nationals with privileged access to a DoD information system performing information assurance (security) functions, regardless of job or occupational series. There are various levels of compliance based on the level of job function. Changes approved as recently as February 2010 include the addition of the EC-COuncil CEH and the (ISC)2 Cap Certifications. The levels are mapped out to the comprehensive 8570 solution as follows.

Information Assurance Workforce Levels

Technical I

Technical II

Technical III

!CompTIA A+



!CompTIA Network+

!CompTIA Security+







Management I

Management II

Management III

!CompTIA Security+









Computer Network Defense (CND) & IA System Architecture and Engineering (IASAE) Certifications supported by Fast Lane's Cyber Security Division

CND Infrastructure Support

CND Auditor

CND-SP Manager

CND Incident Reporter

CND Analyst












*Students wanting to be prepared for the SSCP class can attend the CISSP or the Security+ class, and be provided comprehensive mentoring and materials in preparation for the SSCP Certification exam.

U.S. DoD Directive 8570 and Certified Ethical Hacker

The United States of America Department of Defense issued Directive 8570 in 2004 to mandate baseline certifications for all Information Assurance (IA) positions. In February of 2010, this directive was enhanced to include the Certified Ethical Hacker across the Computer Network Defense (CND) categories.

What is 8570?

As stated by DIAP: DOD Directive 8570.01M Change 2 provides the basis for an enterprise-wide solution to train, certify, and manage the DoD Information Assurance (IA) workforce.

How is the Directive structured?

8570 classifies personnel in the following main categories:

  • Technician
  • Manager
  • Computer Network Defender Service Provider
  • System Architect and Engine

Categories are subdivided into individual job roles relating to specific functional requirements. The certified ethical hacker covers four out of five positions in the Computer Network Defense Category. CEH is a part of:

  • CND Analyst
  • CND Infrastructure Support
  • CND Incident Responder
  • CND Auditor
Who is affected by DOD Directive 8570?

All individuals with privileged access to DOD Systems, military personnel, civilian contractors, and foreign employees alike.

Why is CEH the best certification for CND-SP 8570?

The Certified Ethical Hacker Program was designed and developed at a time when the Global IT industry was led to believe that IT Security consisted of purchasing expensive vendor equipment.

EC-Council literally changed the industry’s vernacular when they developed the Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) course. The innovative CEH course was the first of its kind, bringing "hacking" technologies "into the light of day." Five years and more than 30,000 certified members later, the EC-Council is currently the industry's only accepted standard for the Certified Ethical Hacker.

Seven Reasons Why you Should Attend Fast Lane’s EC-Council Training

  1. Fast Lane’s EC-Council’s courses are delivered with a strong emphasis of hands-on techniques that will enable you to apply what you have learned as soon as you complete your class.
  2. Fast Lane’s InfoSec leader, Barry Kaufman, and his network of hacker instructors, have been involved from the beginning in developing EC-Council’s courseware.
  3. Fast Lane’s EC-Council’s courses shall immerse you with hundreds of tools that are used in the underground to compromise even the most secure systems.
  4. Fast Lane’s Barry Kaufman oversees the quality of each delivery, and is an author of "CEH: Official Certified Ethical Hacker Review Guide: Exam 312-50".
  5. Fast Lane’s EC-Council’s courses feature some of the best names in the InfoSec world.
  6. Fast Lane’s EC-Council’s courses have attained the world-renowned CNSS 4011–4016 Certification from the U.S. National Security Council.
  7. Fast Lane’s EC-Council’s Information Security Courses are tailored for a global information security professional audience in a vendor-neutral environment. CEH is unique in the field of information security certifications because it not only tests a candidate's knowledge, but also the candidate's ability to apply that acquired knowledge into practice to secure real assets.

Benefits of CEH Certification for the IT Professional

Certified Ethical Hacker is the globally recognized standard for ethical hacking certifications. Certified Ethical Hacker offers a comprehensive "hacking toolkit" consisting of exploits, viruses, and trial versions of the industry’s most widely accepted anti-hacking tools for an encyclopedic study of the cumulative world of hacking technologies since CEH’s inception in 2004.

CEH is part one of a two-part requirement on the way to becoming a Licensed Penetration Tester. This is a designation sought after by IT Security professionals who wish to show the industry that they have the skills necessary to conduct a professional vulnerability assessment (Penetration Test).

CEH Exam

CEH is a controlled exam; you must have a voucher code along with an authorization code to take the test. You will need to take the course in order to get the voucher, so take your training from an EC-Council authorized training provider: Fast Lane.